Farewells but not goodbyes.

Quick status update: UK visa is approved and flights are now booked. Things are getting real now!

As my time to leave to Glasgow draws near, everyone around me has this aura of excitement for me – a level of excitement that at times feels is higher than my own. Perhaps it hasn’t fully hit me yet that I am leaving. I am definitely very excited, but I admittedly also feel nervous and scared as well. It sometimes feels like I am about to jump into a dark pool of water, not knowing what’s inside, and hoping I can remember how to swim (I can’t really swim, by the way… I will work on that).

I know I have the best colleagues, friends, and family anyone can ask for. I am very lucky to be able to say that. I know I am also very lucky to enjoy the work that I do and have the space to explore and learn even more for my own personal growth. I also work with some of the most inspirational students and student leaders and I love being part of their learning journey and seeing them grow with every new experience. There is a team of supportive people in my work life and personal life that I know I can count on, and a lifetime of gratitude only scratches the surface of how much they all mean to me.

This is what makes leaving feel so difficult – leaving all of that behind for who knows what is in store.

But you tread on, remembering why you are doing it. This opportunity to go on exchange is a gift I will cherish. It is a chance to push my boundaries further and discover new treasures and insights to further define my understanding of life and personal values. I am a learner. I continually strive to learn more about the world I live in and who I am. It will also be nice to be just a student again, focusing on my interests and contributing to my learning in an educational setting. I have been telling everyone that I will be away, but I am not gone. I will need to remind myself that every now and then.

And let’s be real – 10 months sounds like a while, but it likely will fly by. I will be back in case anyone had any real doubt – I need to come back and graduate!

Leave a comment